image widget

NJEPA Awards Program

Throughout its history, the New Jersey Emergency Preparedness Association has always sought to better Emergency Management and Emergency Services in the State of New Jersey. In addition to the training and breakout sessions offered by the State and Regions Subject Matter Experts, NJEPA strives to recognize the Emergency Managers (public and private) who are making a difference in their communities today as well as support and encourage the Emergency Managers of the future.


This is accomplished, in one part, through our Awards Program. Please review the Emergency Manager of the Year Award and Scholarship Program here and on our website and consider who in your community is deserving of these honors.

Kevin H. Tuno Memorial Emergency Manager of the Year Award

​​​​​​​Any individual or emergency management program active in emergency management activities in New Jersey are eligible for this award. It is intended to recognize the successful leadership of public or private sector preparedness and emergency management individuals or programs that have demonstrated leadership, ingenuity and selflessness. Individuals may be involved in public or private emergency management, mitigation, preparedness, response or recovery efforts anywhere in the State. This award is not limited to emergency management personnel and is open to all who work in the emergency management, preparedness and/or emergency response fields, including but not limited to: planners, contractors, PIOs, first responders, coordinators... etc.


​​​​​​​Please review the tab for this award on the top tool bar, on the left, before completing the nomination submission.


​​​​​​​Click Here to learn more about Kevin H. Tuno.

The NJ Emergency Manager's Memorial Scholarship Program

The NJEPA honors the State’s exemplary Emergency Managers through a series of scholarships named in their honor. These awards are named for Captain Jonathan C. Young, former President of the New Jersey Emergency Preparedness Association and career firefighter and fire officer and Michael W. Augustyniak a former career emergency manager and planner for the New Jersey Office of Emergency Management. They are intended for a graduating high school senior or college student presently enrolled in an accredited college or university interested in pursuing a career in the emergency management field of study. This includes emergency management, homeland security, fire suppression, law enforcement, hazardous material, arson investigation, etc.

Please review the tab for this award on the top tool bar, on the left, before completing the nomination submission.


​​​​​​​CLICK HERE to learn more about Captain Jon Young.
CLICK HERE to learn more about Michael W. Augustyniak

Submission Steps:
  1. Submitting a submission is a two step process.
  2. Step 1- Click on the "Log In" tab at the top left of this page.  If you have not created a profile for this conference, click on "new user" to create your profile, you only have to do this once. If you have already created your profile, you can log in directly using your profile.
  3. Step 2- After you have created your profile you will need to add your Submission/Nomination. Once you log in, you will see a tab for "Submissions" at the top left. Click there to view submissions that you have already entered OR if you are adding a new submission, click "add new" and complete the submission form. You will be able to add and store all of the submissions you create under your profile. Make sure you select the appropriate "Award Category" to ensure that your nomination is reviewed by the appropriate team.
  4. Please be sure to complete all of the required fields and double check all of the information you are submitting.
  5. Once you have completed the form, click on the "save and submit" button at the bottom. You also have the option to "save and continue later" if you need to review or add information to your submission at a later time.

Please note that the review teams will not begin the selection process until after the final submission deadline. At that time, they will be reviewed and scored by each committee member and then recipients will be selected. Applicants selected, to receive the honors, will not receive notification until immediately before the conference.